Quantcast

Posts Tagged: creepypasta

Tales from the Comment Crypt

By

Halloween comes early with Jezebel’s annual Spooky Story Contest, where readers leave their terrifying tales in the comments (they can also be emailed to [email protected]). Other than that, the rules are are as follows: 1) The story must be true, and 2) The story must be scary. Fans of Creepypasta, Channel Zero, and all manner […]

...more

The Horror, the Horror of Short Form Fiction

By

Despite the publication this past year of behemoth novels like Donna Tartt’s 750 page The Goldfinch and Eleanor Catton’s 850 page The Luminaries, current trends increasingly embrace truncated fiction. MobyLives took the conclusion of the third annual Twitter Fiction Festival as an opportunity to look at short form horror fiction known as creepypasta: This type of […]

...more

Scary Stories for a New Generation

By

We haven’t stopped creating fairy tales and folklore—we just do it online now. For Aeon magazine, Will Wiles has a splendid longread about “creepypasta,” the phenomenon of writing and disseminating scary stories on the Internet. Their subject matter—horrific lost episodes of TV shows, malicious computer code that causes seizures—reveal how the loci of our anxieties […]

...more