Posts Tagged: Jezebel

Lady Killers and Our Obsession with Murder: Talking with Tori Telfer

By

Tori Telfer discusses her first book Lady Killers and the fragile “social saran wrap” that keeps us all from killing each other.

...more

This Week in Essays

By

For the Passages North blog, Jennifer Maritza McCauley discovers a connection to Rosa Parks and goes to Alabama in search of answers. Can you go home again to a place you’ve never been? Enuma Okoro writes for Aeon on moving to Nigeria to escape America’s problems.

...more

This Week in Essays

By

Men will not protect you anymore. At Jezebel, Madeleine Davies advises that “now is a time for fury and force.” Mark Binelli looks into life on the border town of Nogales for Guernica. Here at The Rumpus, Matthew Clair writes about how we must do more than simply gaze upon suffering; actions speak louder than images.

...more

This Week in Trumplandia

By

Welcome to This Week in Trumplandia. Check in with us every Thursday for a weekly roundup of the most pertinent and relevant content on our country, which is currently spiraling down a crappy toilet drain. You owe it to yourself, your communities, and your humanity to contribute whatever you can, even if it is just […]

...more

Tales from the Comment Crypt

By

Halloween comes early with Jezebel’s annual Spooky Story Contest, where readers leave their terrifying tales in the comments (they can also be emailed to [email protected]). Other than that, the rules are are as follows: 1) The story must be true, and 2) The story must be scary. Fans of Creepypasta, Channel Zero, and all manner […]

...more

The Rumpus Interview with Brit Bennett

By

Brit Bennett discusses her debut novel The Mothers, investigating “what-if” moments, and navigating racism in white spaces.

...more

The Read Along: Kelsey Miller

By

The Read Along is a new column that offers a glimpse into the reading habits of real-life writers. Our first installment features Kelsey Miller, author of the memoir Big Girl and columnist at Refinery29.

...more

Charlotte Bronte’s Letters

By

Laura June writes for Pictorial at Jezebel on the epistolary life of Charlotte Bronte. June covers Bronte’s later years, showing that the significant portion of what we know about Charlotte Bronte comes from her correspondence with her best friend, Ellen Nussey, and her former employer/love of her life, Constantin Héger.

...more

Making Space

By

Books by white dudes are so inescapable that some readers have taken to (temporarily) swearing off their work. Jezebel’s Jia Tolentino considers whether those efforts are misguided: We know that white male writers take up too much literary attention; the solution is not necessarily jamming everyone else into a bottle of social justice cough syrup, standing […]

...more

On Ladies’ Creative Pursuits

By

There are certain stereotypes about women’s creativity prior to the twentieth century, and generally they revolve around appropriately domestic novels, amateur watercolors, needlework, and “folk art.” But there’ve always been women who found ways around those rules. For Pictorial at Jezebel, Kelly Faircloth writes on an exhibit at the New York Public Library featuring the […]

...more

The Saturday Rumpus Essay: Brodawg Branding

By

Behold: the “Cool Girl” of commercials.

...more

Breaking Up (With Friends) Is Hard to Do

By

Laura Turner writes about friendships and loss and the myths of ourselves: What I had found was that it took the instant to make me realize how much life had changed. M and I hadn’t been friends for years, but I had lived every day of those years thinking that reconciliation might be just around […]

...more

Everyday You’re Hustlin’

By

If you’re not making enough money, or if you’re stuck in a dead-end job that you’re overqualified for, it’s because you just aren’t hustling hard enough. It most certainly is not because there aren’t enough jobs, or the minimum wage isn’t high enough, or because women aren’t guaranteed equal pay under the law. Even if […]

...more

Romance Writers Mean Business

By

For Pictorial at Jezebel, Kelly Faircloth explores the public imagination’s view of the romance writer, focusing on the genre’s boom in the 1980s and the modern-day romance writer with her eye on the business of writing. [The Romance Writers of America’s annual conference] reminded me of something like Mary Kay, or Avon—an empire built on […]

...more

Big, Ugly Truth

By

Conservative pundits have been attacking Emma Sulkowicz, the Columbia student who spent the last year carrying around her mattress in protest of how the university handled the discipline hearing after she was raped, labeling her a liar. Most of these criticisms seem to forget that three other women also filed complaints against her attacker, Paul […]

...more

How to Harlequin

By

Over at Jezebel, Kelly Faircloth shares a fantastic long form piece on the rise of the Harlequin romance novel, and how the brand became synonymous with a wildly lucrative if critically dismissed genre. From the original formula for woman-centered, alpha-male page turners to Harlequin’s relentless advertising tactics to the question of exactly how much sex […]

...more

But What About Me?

By

There’s a certain heuristic online these days that stems from a somewhat impossible idea that every narrated experience should contain, account for, and address every other one out there. There is no breed of reaction that deadens me more, for example, than, ‘Great, but I wish this had been written from my perspective.’ And social […]

...more

Blame Game

By

At Clutch, Evette Dionne writes an open letter to Abigail Fisher, the young woman whose case against the University of Texas is currently being heard by the Supreme Court. Fisher claims that her whiteness was held against her, leading to the rejection of her college application. According to UT, Fisher wouldn’t have been admitted, regardless […]

...more

How to Be Friends With Another Woman

By

“It’s okay if most of your friends are guys but if you champion this as a commentary on the nature of female friendships, well, soul search a little.” Rumpus essays editor Roxane Gay has created a helpful guide/manifesto on friendship between women. It’s chock-full of wisdom that touches on both the overarching and more specific […]

...more